London, ON. January 19, 2024 – Techalliance of Southwestern Ontario announced six winners at Limitless: A Celebration of Regional Innovation, held at The Factory, 100 Kellogg Lane on January 18, 2024. Acknowledging the impact that innovators are creating in our region, this annual celebration spotlights ventures and entrepreneurs who bring innovative solutions, develop socially conscious companies, and showcase growth in the innovation ecosystem. 

The recipients were selected by distinguished industry leaders, with the People’s Choice Award chosen through public voting and Forthcomer Award chosen through a live pitch competition. The awards and recipients in each category are as follows: 

The Breakthrough Award recognizes a technology-driven company that demonstrates next-level innovation with a novel solution that has seen significant market impact. Congratulations to the recipient of this award, Brust Beverages Ltd. Bringing a one-of-its-kind protein coffee beverage to market, Brust was born as a quick fix to help consumers meet their daily protein needs and satisfy their urge of drinking coffee in the morning, as they kickstart their day.  
The Maker Award acknowledges the remarkable achievements of an exceptional individual who has made significant contributions in the area of technology development or innovation. Congratulations to the recipient of this award, Adam Preston. Preston comes with extensive experience of almost 15 years in software development and applications. Currently, he works at General Dynamics Land Systems – Canada as their Innovation Cell – Staff Specialist, bringing in innovative thinking and years of expert knowledge.  

The Scaleup Award recognizes a venture that has realized substantial growth within the year through leadership, market impact, and innovation. Congratulations to the recipient of this award, Nuts for Cheese. Founded by Margaret Coons, Nuts For Cheese has averaged >50% Year-On-Year growth every year and has led to new job creation, spin-off benefits for regional suppliers and maintenance vendors for the past 8 years.  

The Forthcomer Award recognizes a young professional and true trailblazer, 29 years of age and under, who is creating an impact and disrupting through innovation. Congratulations to the recipient of this award, Chloe Beaudoin, Co-Founder of Apricotton. Creating a bra for tweens, teens and girls, Apricotton brings the ideal bra – one that’s stretchy and breathable with adjustable straps, as teenagers go through different stages of puberty.

The People’s Choice Award honors a standout in the innovation space, selected from the finalists across all categories through public voting. Congratulations to the recipient of this award, NLPatent. Founded by Stephanie Curcio and James Stonehill, NLPatent is on the mission to revolutionize inefficient patent search processes through their intuitive AI-powered patent search platform.  

The Visionary Award was introduced this year and celebrates the exemplary achievements of an individual who has left an indelible mark on the tech industry through their unwavering dedication, visionary leadership, and pioneering innovations. Congratulations to the recipient of this award, Michael Schmalz, Former President of Digital Extremes. Read more about his accomplishments and leadership here.  

“This year is a celebration of growth and innovation in our noteworthy innovation economy,” shares Christina Fox, Chief Executive Officer at TechAlliance of Southwestern Ontario. “Southwestern Ontario has demonstrated its resiliency, commitment and ingenuity in the past several years, and as we reflect on the stories of these leaders, we are reminded that building a venture, scaling a company or an innovation is essential to fuel growth in Canada’s innovation economy. These powerful stories of innovation prove that possibilities are, in fact, Limitless. Congratulations to all finalists and award recipients.” 

Limitless was made possible by sponsorship from local champions — CARFAX, Lenovo, Lerners, MNP LLP, Roberston Hall Insurance,, Fanshawe College Mobile Application Development Program, Lambton College, and Western Morrissette Institute for Entrepreneurship Powered by Ivey

Find more details about Limitless 2024 and the award recipients here.