Following a public call for nominations and applications from the region’s established and emerging innovators, TechAlliance of Southwestern Ontario has determined the twelve finalists across four award categories to be considered for the prestigious awards, to be announced at the Limitless celebration on March 31, 2021.

This marks the inaugural year for Limitless: A Celebration of Regional Innovation, developed as a timely showcase of those who are leveraging technology to develop creative solutions, harnessing equitable practices to empower an inclusive and vibrant community, and growing some of the most promising ventures in the face of disruption.

Unique circumstances call for unique celebrations. Though Limitless is unlike anything we’ve done – this is the shape that transformation takes. This is what it looks like when emerging innovators take health and equity into their own hands, when technology founders break down the barriers of distance, and creative minds design tools that inject joy into our daily lives. This is progress. And we couldn’t be more delighted to see it reflected in an impressive roster of finalists.

Christina Fox, Chief Executive Officer, TechAlliance

The top three contenders in each award category represent the achievements of innovators over the past year; driving transformation, recovery and prosperity. The awards and finalists in each category are as follows:

The Breakthrough Award recognizes a company who has brought a novel solution to market, whose technology clearly demonstrates next-level innovation.

  • Apricotton
  • HUX
  • Marlow

The Gamechanger Award recognizes a company whose culture is paramount to the success of their business, accelerating growth and profitability while creating positive impact.

  • Mobials
  • Northern Commerce

The Scaleup Award recognizes a company that has realized substantial growth over the last 12 months.

  • EXAR Studios
  • Kabo Fresh Dog Food
  • VidHug

The Forthcomer Award recognizes a trailblazing young professional, 29 years of age and under, with an innovative solution or business.

  • Lena Schreyer, Beecuz
  • Saumik Biswas, PathLogix
  • Dallas Barnes, Reya Health

Starting today, the public will also have the opportunity to have their voices heard, as polls have opened to select a recipient of The People’s Choice Award. Choosing one of the twelve finalists to win by popular vote, the winning finalist will be announced at the time of the awards ceremony on March 31, starting at 7:00 PM.

“Disruption has become a launchpad for our community to show strength and ingenuity, fueling creativity and collaboration at every turn,” said Fox. “Our Limitless finalists have carved out opportunities to thrive in an innovation economy transformed, and we’re ready to celebrate those driving necessary change. Now, we’re ready to hear from the people. Who’s your frontrunner?”

With the purchase of a ticket, guests will receive a “Bites & Bevies” box, stocked with locally sourced goodies and a signature Black Fly Beverage Company cocktail, delivered in time for the celebration.

Limitless is made possible by sponsorship from a cast of regional partners — MNP LLP, Stronghold Services Corporation, TD Ferrara Wealth Advisory Group, Fanshawe College School of Digital and Performing Arts, and Pierre L. Morrissette Institute for Entrepreneurship at Ivey Business School. Each committed to fostering innovation, their contributions will enable this experience to uplift and energize audiences in Elgin, Huron, Lambton, Middlesex and Oxford counties when the live celebration airs on March 31, 2021 at 7:00 PM.